In some cases, when employees are injured at work and they are unable to come back to the workplace due to their injury, they may receive compensation for the wages they lose. This form of payment is referred to as wage-loss payment. To learn more about wage-loss payments in Pennsylvania, continue reading and reach out to AllianceMeds.
What are wage-loss payments?
Employees can receive wage-loss benefits in Pennsylvania that are equal to two-thirds of their average weekly wage. The minimum compensation rate is the lower of 90% of the employee’s average weekly wage or 50% of the statewide average weekly wage.
These payments can be offset for 50% of Social Security benefits, the employer-paid part of the individual’s retirement pension, severance pay, unemployment compensation, or other earnings. Pennsylvania law does not allow for an increase in these payments due to the cost of living.
To learn more about your individual situation and what you might receive, reach out to an experienced workers’ compensation attorney.
Who is eligible for wage-loss payments?
When a Pennsylvania employee is injured and they are disabled for more than seven calendar days, including the weekends, they can receive wage-loss payments. Eight days after the injury occurred, they will receive benefits. If the employee is unable to return to work for 14 days, they can receive retroactive payment for their first seven days.
It is important that you report the incident immediately after being injured at work. When the injury is reported immediately and the claim is accepted by the insurance carrier, you should receive your first check within 21 days of your absences from work. Following your first check, you should receive payments on a regular basis.
How long do wage-loss payments last?
Wage-loss benefits will be determined when the employer or insurance carrier receives evidence that the employee returned to work at a wage equal to or more than their prior earnings. Wage-loss payments may stop for the following reasons:
- The employee signs a supplemental agreement
- The employee signs an agreement to stop workers’ compensation
- The 500-week period of partial disability status expires
- The workers’ compensation judge stops benefits after a hearing
If you have any further questions about wage-loss payments in Pennsylvania, reach out to AllianceMeds today.
If you have become the victim of an on-the-job injury, it may be beneficial to speak with an attorney and the doctor that is treating you to determine how to make the process as easy as possible. AllianceMeds understands that a workplace accident can be challenging and is here to help. We will deliver your medication to your door using overnight delivery and cover any out-of-pocket expenses that may arise. If you have any questions about how we can help, contact AllianceMeds today.