When a person is involved in an accident in the workplace, it can result in significant physical, emotional, and financial damages. These can often be overwhelming, which is why workers’ compensation is in place to cover them. To begin this process, the injured employee must file a claim.
Am I Covered?
In the state of Wisconsin, nearly all employees are covered by worker’s compensation law. The only employee exceptions to the Wisconsin Worker’s Compensation Act insurance coverage requirement are:
- Domestic servants
- Some farm employees
- Volunteers, including those of non-profit organizations that receive any value totaling no more than $10 per week
- Religious sect members that qualify and are certified
When Does Coverage Begin?
It is important to know that, regardless of how long an employee has been working for an employer, coverage for Workers Compensation benefits begins on the first day of work. It also does not matter if the individual is in a probationary or training status. In most cases, the first payment of these benefits will be made by the insurance company within 14 days of the last day the individual worked. However, there is a three-day waiting period. The first three days of lost time after the injury are not compensable. Instead, it is payable beginning on the fourth day of lost time. If the disability lasts beyond seven calendar days, then the first three days of lost time can be picked up and paid retroactively.
What Benefits am I Entitled to?
The benefits an employee is entitled to can include the following:
- Coverage of all reasonable and necessary medical expenses
- Benefits for temporary wage loss, including temporary partial disability or temporary total disability
- Permanent partial disability or permanent total disability
- Vocational rehabilitation and training
- Death benefits and burial expenses up to specified limits, if applicable
How Do I File?
It is the responsibility of an injured employee to:
- Tell their supervisor immediately
- Obtain any necessary medical attention
- Maintain all relevant medical and payment records
After notifying the employer, it is their responsibility to report the injury to the insurance carrier or claims administrator who will then report it to the Wisconsin Worker’s Compensation Division.
If you have become the victim of an on the job injury, it may be beneficial to speak with an attorney and the doctor that is treating you to determine how to make the process as easy as possible. AllianceMeds understands that a workplace accident can be challenging and is here to help. We will deliver your medication to your door using overnight delivery and cover any out of pocket expenses that may arise. If you have any questions about how we can help, contact AllianceMeds today.